Ubuntu For Android Announced

Ubuntu for Android is one thing I’d DEFINITELY try if it was made available for those with Android tablets, it looks slick. but enough of me just putting my opinion on it, it’s better to have facts backing it up. and there’s not many of those this early on.

From what I gather from the video and the site for it, it will be compatible with both PC versions of Ubuntu (Desktop and Laptop) and Ubuntu TV which was announced earlier this month. The device it is to be run on needs to have multiple processor cores, and can seamlessly share data with Ubuntu PCs and Ubuntu TVs. The hardware specs are kind of high, needing a dual-core 1GHz CPU, a USB Host Mode, 2GB storage, Video Acceleration with shared kernel driver for OpenGL or ES/EGL, 512 MB RAM, and HDMI Video Out with a secondary frame buffer device, which are not low end requirements by any means, Did I mention that it requires Android version 2.3 or higher? My Acer Iconia Tab A100 might possibly be able to run this, can’t say for sure, as I haven’t looked at my RAM or CPU.

Either way, this might just be one thing that gets me to keep Unity, as it makes it so Unity make a bit more sense.

–Cody Smith

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

